# Draft Agenda

# United Academics Representative Assembly Anchorage, Alaska

# Saturday 15 February 2020

# Meeting held at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel in Anchorage, Alaska

# **Draft Agenda:**

9:00 am Buffet Breakfast

10:00 am Call to Order – Abel Bult-Ito

10:05 am Introductory Business

i. Roll Call – Soren Orley

ii. Introduction of Guests – Abel Bult-Ito

iii. Approval of Agenda – Abel Bult-Ito

iv. Approval of 12-06-20 Meeting Minutes – Abel Bult-Ito

# 10:15 am New Business - Abel Bult-Ito

- i. **Elections Results** Election closes 3 February 2020 at 5pm (Announcement will be when results are certified)(The published report will be here)
- ii. State of the University Updates What we know The issues
  - 1. Faculty Alliance Chair and Faculty Senate Presidents
  - 2. Motion to publicly support the AAUP statement *In Defense of Knowledge and Higher Education*
  - 3. Campus Senate Policy and Procedures
  - 4. Legislative Letter to Chair of BOR College of Education
  - 5. Program Review Update
  - 6. Shared governance
  - 7. BOR Meetings and Planned Actions
    - a. Thursday, February 6, 2020 Live Stream Online using wireless devices or a computer during open session at: http://www.alaska.edu/bor/live/
    - b. February 13, 2020 Academic and Student Affairs Committee Meeting / Facilities and Land Management Committee – Fairbanks
    - c. February 20-21, 2020 Full Board Meeting Fairbanks
    - d. June 4-5, 2020 Full Board Meeting Anchorage
  - 8. Campus Events and Planning
  - 9. Negotiation Planning and Update Tony Rickard
  - 10. Support for Alaska Workers Association Pete Praetorius

#### 11:30 am Operational Business

- i. Officers' Reports Written reports in folder
  - 1. President's report Abel Bult-Ito

- 2. Secretary/Treasurer's report Soren Orley
- 3. Organizational Vice Presidents' reports
  - a. UA EX extended sites Rick McDonald
  - b. UAS Juneau campus Charla Brown
  - c. UAA Anchorage campus Sharon Chamard
  - d. UAF Fairbanks Campus Mara Bacsujilaky

## 12:00 pm Buffet Lunch

#### 12:45 pm Operational Business Continues

# ii. Representative Assembly Members' Reports

- 1. UA Extended Sites Representatives
  - a. Pete Praetorius (UAA)
  - b. Jody Drew (UAF)
  - c. John Radzilowski (UAS)
- 2. UAS Representatives
  - a. Andrea Dewees
  - b. Lisa Hoferkamp
- 3. UAA Representatives
  - a. Nelta Edwards
  - b. Tim Hinterberger
  - c. Sharyl Toscano
  - d. Erik Carlson
  - e. Ian van Tets
  - f. Max Kullberg
  - g. Terry Nelson
- 4. UAF Representatives
  - a. Peter Bieniek
  - b. Haiwei Chen
  - c. Chris Coffman
  - d. Robert Coker
  - e. Arthur Nash Jr.
  - f. Kate Quick
  - g. Anthony Rickard
  - h. Gordon Williams

#### 1:15 am Wellness Break

#### 1:30 am iii. Committee Reports

- 1. Collective Bargaining Committee minutes attached
  - a. Mara Bacsujilaky
  - b. Erik Carlson
  - c. Robert Coker
  - d. Tim Hinterberger
  - e. Tony Rickard
- 2. Finance, Budget, and Audit Committee Meeting for April Prep Date

- a. Sharon Chamard
- b. Haiwei Chen
- c. Soren Orley
- d. Rick McDonald
- 3. Legislative Relations Committee What are the Issues affecting Higher Ed?
  - a. Jody Drew
  - b. Nelta Edwards
  - c. Lisa Hoferkamp
  - d. Max Kullberg
  - e. Art Nash
  - f. Sharyl Toscano
- 4. Membership Committee Minutes Attached
  - a. Peter Beinick
  - b. Charla Brown
  - c. Terry Nelson
  - d. Kate Quick
  - e. John Radzilowski
  - f. Andrea Dewees
- 5. Elections Committee Results Announced
  - a. Chair: Allan Barnes
  - b. UAS: Jill Dumesnil
  - c. UAA: Judith Daxootsu Ramos
  - d. UAF: Polly Hyslop
- 6. Ad Hoc Constitution and By-laws Committee
  - a. Pete Praetorious
  - b. Ian van Tets
  - c. Gordon Williams
  - d. Jill Dumesnil
- 7. Negotiations Team
  - a. Tony Rickard
  - b. Jill Dumsnil
  - c. Tara Smith
  - d. Kris Racina
  - e. Cynthia (Thia) Falcone
- 8. Joint Health Care Committee Abel Bult-Ito
  - a. Abel Bult-Ito (chair)
  - b. Charla Brown
  - c. Soren Orley
  - d. Leah Berman (alternate)
- 9. APEA/AFT Board Abel Bult-Ito and Tim Hinterberger
  - a. Seat A: Abel Bult-Ito
  - b. Seat A Alternate: Tony Rickard
  - c. Seat B: Tim Hinterberger
  - d. Seat B Alternate: Nelta Edwards
- 10. APEA/AFT EPIC Tony Rickard and Nelta Edwards

- a. Seat A: Tony Rickard
- b. Seat A Alternate: Abel Bult-Ito
- c. Seat B: Nelta Edwards
- d. Seat B Alternate: Sharon Chamard
- 11. AFL-CIO Vice-Presidents Abel Bult-Ito and Nelta Edwards
  - a. Abel Bult-Ito
  - b. Nelta Edwards

# 3:15 pm Old Business

- i. Contact each of the assigned 50 UNAC bargaining units members at least once in person and ask them to complete the "Supporting Full University Funding and faculty Governance" card
- ii. Sign up new members with a goal of increasing overall membership to 80% by the end of fall 2019 semester
- iii. Sign up new members with a goal of increasing overall membership to 90% by the end of Spring 2020

# 3:35 pm Good of the Membership

# 4:00 pm Adjourn