United Academics – AAUP/AFT Local 4996

Call for Nominations For Secretary/Treasurer

Nominations are now open for the office of Secretary/Treasurer. Those elected will have a three-year term of office beginning July 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2023.

<u>Criteria for office</u>: To be nominated for the position of Secretary/Treasurer, you must be a current active member in good standing. The bylaws can be found at: http://unitedacademics.net/wp-content/uploads/UNAC-Bylaws-Final-Fall-2019.pdf

Procedure: To have your name placed on the ballot you must obtain the signatures of current active full dues paying union members. Active members are those members who have been active (duespaying) consecutively from payroll run R16 (ended 27 Jul 2019) through payroll run R16 (ended 25 Jul 2020). If you do not receive this email contact the Elections Committee member from your university for verification of your voting status. Only active dues paying members get to vote or serve in an elected office position. The form to obtain the required signatures is attached to this email and you may also get a form from an election committee member. An Elections Committee member from your MAU will inform you that your nomination has been accepted and that your name has been placed on the ballot. The results of the election will be announced on 21 Sep 2020. Previous petitions have on occasion been shown to contain one or more invalid signatures (e.g. signatures of non-UNAC members) you are therefore strongly encouraged to obtain more than the minimum number of signatures and thus avoid possible invalidation of your petition.

<u>Deadline</u>: A candidate statement max (250 words), and the completed nomination form with the required number of valid signatures (10) must be emailed to all members of the Elections Committee <u>NO LATER THAN</u>: 1:00 PM on Thursday 27 Aug 2020. This is a firm deadline, as the names of candidates must be verified and sent immediately to votenet for ballot preparation. Votenet will send individual secure secret ballots to the all eligible voters to open voting on 31 Aug 2020.

Members of the Elections Committee:

UAA: Allan Barnes (Chair), arbarnes@alaska.edu
UAS: Jill Dumesnil, jadumesnil@alaska.edu
UAF: Judith Ramos jramos2@alaska.edu
UAF: Polly Hyslop physlop@alaska.edu