# United Academics AAUP-AFT Local 4996 Representative Assembly Zoom Meeting

Saturday 17 April 2021 and Sunday 18 April 2021 Zoom link https://alaska.zoom.us/i/82095960776

Meeting ID: 820 9596 0776 +1 253 215 8782 US phone

**Draft Agenda:** 

Saturday 17 April 2021:

9:00 am Call to Order – Abel Bult-Ito

We live and work on the land of Alaska Native Peoples.

As part of our commitment to enkindle racial justice and social equity within the University of Alaska system, we will speak up when we experience examples of racial narratives, racism, or whiteness in our meetings and as we conduct our business. This means we can and will interrupt the meeting to draw the issue to one another's attention. We will do this kindly, with care, and in good faith. This statement is a reminder that we commit to doing this in the service of ending the system of racial oppression that is perpetuated through institutionalized policies and individual unconscious bias.

## 9:01am Introductory Business

a. Roll call – Nelta Edwards

RA members: Mara Bacsujlaky, Peter Bieniek, Charla Brown, Stephan Brown, Abel Bult-Ito, Sharon Chamard, Haiwei Chen, Andrea Dewees, Nelta Edwards, Ryan Harrod, Ian Hartman, Timothy Hinterberger, Lisa Hoferkamp, Max Kullberg, Ben Kuntz, Richard McDonald, Arthur Nash Jr., Tara Palmer, Joel Potter, Pete Praetorius, Kate Quick, John Radzilowski, Anthony Rickard, Robin Shoaps, Sharyl Eve Toscano, Dorn Van Dommelan, Ian Van Tets, Gordon Williams

- b. Introduction of new contract manager, Melanie Arthur -- Abel Bult-Ito
- c. Introduction of guests Abel Bult-Ito
- d. Motion to approval the agenda Abel Bult-Ito
- e. Motion to approve the 27 February 2021 minutes Abel Bult-Ito

#### **New Business**

#### 09:20am

Update on Administrative reviews--Ian Hartman, Debu Misra, Kevin Krein, Sharon Chamard

**09:40am** ii. Treasurer's Report and presentation of 21/22 budget--Nelta Edwards

Link to documents

ii. Motion: Approve the 21/22 budget.

iii. Motion: Approve Paycheck Protection Program Ioan

11:00am UNAC Elections Results -- Nelta Edwards

11:10am RA Approval of new Elections Committee members -- Charla Brown

**Motion: Approve Elections Committee members** 

**11:20am** Faculty Commitment to Excellence -- Charla Brown

Motion: Approve final version (Click Here to View)

**Document History:** 

1. May 2020 - Drafted by Reimagining the University working group

2. June 2020 - Summary presented in RA meeting; Google link distributed via RA for review comment.

3. January 2021 - RA feedback incorporated into document

4. January 2021 - Presented revised draft to Executive Board for review.

5. February 10, 2021 - Draft approved by executive board and moving to RA for discussion.

6. February 27, 2021 - Draft approved by RA in principle on 2/27. There will be a 2-week period for wordsmithing then a final vote via email on 3/12 in RA Meeting 4/17 (updated).

a. Language of Approved Motion: "Pass this document in principle and give RA members two weeks to make comments in the document. The comments will be taken into account and addressed by the Reimagining the University committee. The final version will be sent out to the RA for approval."

11:30am Reports (unfinished items will move to Sunday 4/18 - see next page).

12:00pm Motion to Adjourn

### **Sunday 18 April 2021:**

## **9:00am** Meeting called back to order – Abel Bult-Ito

## **Introductory Business**

a.Roll call - Abel Bult-Ito

**RA members:** Mara Bacsujlaky, Peter Bieniek, Charla Brown, Stephan Brown, Abel Bult-Ito, Sharon Chamard, Haiwei Chen, Andrea Dewees, Nelta Edwards, Ryan Harrod, Ian Hartman, Timothy Hinterberger, Lisa Hoferkamp, Max Kullberg, Ben Kuntz, Richard McDonald, Arthur Nash Jr., Tara Palmer, Joel Potter, Pete Praetorius, Kate Quick, John Radzilowski, Anthony Rickard, Robin Shoaps, Sharyl Eve Toscano, Dorn Van Dommelan, Ian Van Tets, Gordon Williams

**Staff:** Melanie Arthur

**Guests:** 

#### **Operational Business**

- Officers' Reports Written reports provided in the <u>April 2021 RA Meeting</u> Google Drive folder
  - 1. President's report Abel Bult-Ito
  - 2. Secretary/Treasurer's report Nelta Edwards
  - 3. Organizational Vice Presidents' reports
    - a. UA EX extended sites Rick McDonald
    - b. UAS Juneau campus Charla Brown
    - c. UAA Anchorage campus Sharon Chamard
    - d. UAF Fairbanks Campus Mara Bacsujilaky
- ii. Committee Reports Written reports provided in the <u>April 2021 RA Meeting</u> Google Drive folder
  - 1. Collective Bargaining Committee
    - a. Mara Bacsujilaky
    - b. Tim Hinterberger
    - c. Debu Misra
    - d. Tony Rickard
    - e. Maria Williams
  - 2. Finance, Budget, and Audit Committee
    - a. Sharon Chamard
    - b. Haiwei Chen
    - c. Andrea Dewees
    - d. Rick McDonald
  - 3. Legislative Relations Committee
    - a. Lisa Hoferkamp
    - b. Max Kullberg
    - c. Art Nash

- 4. Organizing, Membershipand Communications Committee
  - a. Peter Beinick
  - b. Charla Brown
  - c. Kate Quick
  - d. John Radzilowski
- 5. Elections Committee Special Secretary/Treasurer election results announced
  - a. Chair: Allan Barnes
  - b. UAS: Jill Dumesnil
  - c. UAA:
  - d. UAF:
- 6. Ad Hoc Constitution and By-laws Committee
  - a. Pete Praetorious
  - b. Ian van Tets
  - c. Gordon Williams
  - d. Jill Dumesnil
- 7. Ad Hoc Antiracism, Anticolonialism, and Antidiscrimination Committee
  - a. Gordon Williams
  - b. Nelta Edwards
  - c. Lora Vess
  - d. Haiwei Chen
  - e. Lisa Hoferkamp
- 8. Ad Hoc Reimagining the University Working Group
  - a. Abel Bult-Ito
  - b. Nelta Edwards
  - c. Charla Brown
  - d. Sharon Chamard
  - e. Rick McDonald
- 9. Negotiations Team
  - a. Tony Rickard
  - b. Jill Dumesnil
  - c. Tara Palmer
  - d. Kris Racina
  - e. Cynthia (Thia) Falcone
- 10. Joint Health Care Committee Abel Bult-Ito
  - a. Abel Bult-Ito (chair)
  - b. Charla Brown
  - c. Leah Berman
  - d. Sharyl Toscano (alternate)
- 11. APEA/AFT Board Abel Bult-Ito and Tim Hinterberger
  - a. Seat A: Abel Bult-Ito
  - b. Seat A Alternate: Tony Rickard
  - c. Seat B: Tim Hinterberger
  - d. Seat B Alternate: Nelta Edwards

- 12. APEA/AFT EPIC Tony Rickard and Nelta Edwards
  - a. Seat A: Tony Rickard
  - b. Seat A Alternate: Abel Bult-Ito
  - c. Seat B: Nelta Edwards
  - d. Seat B Alternate: Sharon Chamard
- 13. AFL-CIO Vice-Presidents Abel Bult-Ito and Nelta Edwards
  - a. Abel Bult-Ito
  - b. Nelta Edwards